Dwayne Bravo Records Most Expensive Spell of His IPL Career


Image result for Dwayne Bravo Records Most Expensive Spell of His IPL Career

Chennai Super Kings’ (CSK) march to the top of the Indian Premier League (IPL) points table was halted by bottom-placed Delhi Daredevils, who romped home by 34 runs at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi on Friday.

Having already qualified for the play-offs, second-placed Chennai had a chance to rise to the top of the table but a disciplined bowling attack helped Delhi notch their fourth win of this season.

Chasing 163, the tourists were off to a decent 46-run start by Ambati Rayudu (50 from 29 balls; 4×4, 6×4) and Shane Watson (14) before leg-spinner Amit Mishra applied the brakes with the wicket of the veteran Australian.

Thereafter, the Chennai Super Kings failed to string partnerships and eventually finished with 128/6 in their 20 overs.

Earlier, Delhi rode on late order blitzkriegs from Vijay Shankar and Harshal Patel to post a healthy 162/5 after being put into bat by MS Dhoni.

Here’s a look at the match through numbers.

Dwayne Bravo recorded the most expensive spell of his career in the match against Delhi Daredevils. The Chennai Super Kings seemed to be in control when Delhi were at 136/5 at the end of the 19th over.

However, Harshal Patel and Vijay Shankar smashed Bravo for four sixes in the last over to help Delhi post a challenging total. The West Indian conceded 26 runs in the final over of the innings.

Vijay Shankar and Harshal Patel’s sixth partnership of 65 runs is Delhi’s best sixth wicket stand in the IPL. The duo got together at the crease when Abhishek Sharma was dismissed by Shardul Thakur in the 15th over.

Patel and Shankar batted sensibly for four overs before going berserk in the last over of the innings.

(Statistics by Arun Gopalakrishnan)

(With inputs from IANS)

(The Quint is now on WhatsApp. To receive handpicked stories on topics you care about, subscribe to our WhatsApp services. Just go to TheQuint.com/WhatsApp and hit Send.)

For complete IPL coverage, click here to visit our IPL website.


Written by Loknath Das